Erik eriksons eight psychosocial stages

Critical Evaluation By extending the notion of personality development across the lifespan, Erikson outlines a more realistic perspective of personality development McAdams, Erik Erikson postulated 8 stages of development from birth to death.

Is it okay to have been me? At each stage of development, Erikson described conflicts that act as turning points in life. They develop feelings of contentment and integrity if they believe that they have led a happy, productive life.

Erik Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development

Significant relationships are those within the family, workplace, local church and other communities. Erikson was ninety-three years old when she wrote about the ninth stage. The adolescent is newly concerned with how they appear to others. If the care the infant receives is consistent, predictable and reliable, they will develop a sense of trust which will carry with them to other relationships, and they will be able to feel secure even when threatened.

Stagnation Middle Adulthood, 40—59 years [ edit ] Existential Question: A healthy balance between initiative and guilt is important.

Being incompetent "because of aging is belittling" and makes elders "like unhappy small children of great age". Caution must be taken at this age while children may explore things that are dangerous to their health and safety.

Isolation conflict is emphasized around the age of Parents are no longer the complete authorities they once were, although they are still important. People experience a need to create or nurture things that will outlast them, often having mentees or creating positive changes that will benefit other people.

Inferiority Childhood, 7 to 13 years - Fidelity: Thus, "a sense of stagnation may well take over". If a child does not experience trust, he or she may develop insecurity, worthlessness, and general mistrust to the world. Given the right conditions—and Erikson believes these are essentially having enough space and time, a psychosocial moratorium, when a person can freely experiment and explore—what may emerge is a firm sense of identity, an emotional and deep awareness of who he or she is.

Inferiority — Competence During this stage, often called the Latency, we are capable of learning, creating and accomplishing numerous new skills and knowledge, thus developing a sense of industry.

As they make the transition from childhood to adulthood, adolescents ponder the roles they will play in the adult world. In contrast, a person who is self-centered and unable or unwilling to help society move forward develops a feeling of stagnation—a dissatisfaction with the relative lack of productivity.Erik Erikson’s Theory of Psychosocial Development emphasizes the sociocultural determinants of development and presents them as eight stages of psychosocial conflicts (often known as Erikson’s stages of psychosocial development) that all individuals must overcome or resolve successfully in order to adjust well to the environment.

Erik Erikson was an ego psychologist who developed one of the most popular and influential theories of development.

Erikson's stages of psychosocial development

While his theory was impacted by psychoanalyst Sigmund Freud's work, Erikson's theory centered on psychosocial development rather than psychosexual stages that make up his theory are as follows.

Erik eriksons eight psychosocial stages
Rated 3/5 based on 100 review